you're reading...
Economy, Pieces of writing - Personal

Coin-Incidence: Revealing the Value of Usually Ignored Coins

It was my appointment to process my passport at the Department of Foreign Affairs in Pasay City. I was sure about the amount Im going to pay, which is my neglect to trust to only one source (my friend) without verifying it to the website of DFA. I brought that amount with me together with my approximate allowance for fare and food.

To make the story short, I paid more than that amount. I was lucky because I always have an emergency “pocket money” in my wallet amounting 2oo pesos. So I paid even the delivery cost because “practically speaking” I prefer to be delivered at home rather than going back here and spend some more for fare and food again.

However, I overlook the amount of my fare going back home. This makes me appreciate the value of coins. Please read the “inspired” story I came to realized after this incidence.

The society tends to discredit the value of coins nowadays. This is because, aside from a little amount inherited to coins, it is regarded as “weighty” and “hassle” to carry. This makes coins usually left at home – scattered on top of the refrigerator, ignored inside the table drawers, placed behind figurines, leaved everywhere, collecting dusts, disregarded and forgotten.

Coins are meant to be used in an ordinary, everyday transactions. It is best use in purchasing lower-priced goods. It can also be used as for change (panukli) and for charity-giving.

Normally, a five-hundred-peso or even any higher denomination cannot be completed (as a whole) in the absence of even a single one-peso-coin. Like the story of my neighborhood Mommy Marta which she turns back home to get extra money to pay her electric bill in a walking distance establishment when she unknowingly dropped and lost her one-peso coin.

On the other hand, Mr. Juan dela Cruz, (not true name) another friend of mine which is a typical Filipino commuter, tells a story about his experiences that made him value coins more than ever before.

In our kwentuhan, he said – a single one-peso coin had saved his dignity from an unexpected shame.

He used to bring an exact amount of money for his tranpo-fare going to office and back home in the afternoon.

One afternoon, as Mr. Cruz travels his way home, he picked his 12-peso coin in his pocket (his usual fare) to pay his last vehicle ride – the LRT (Light Rail Transit). He was so tired (that afternoon) and eventually makes him nap inside the train.

Suddenly, Mr. Cruz goes beyond his 12-peso fare resulting to rejection of his ticket in the exit facilities of the train. Mr. Cruz has remaining two-peso-coin in his pocket. However, the ticket attendant asked him another peso to complete his fifteen-peso-fare. Mr. Cruz has no more coin in his pocket and even in his bag.

He looked back to find somebody to ask for help however, he was held by his pride. Mr. Cruz feels ashamed as he sees an approximately five people align behind him. He was blushing and wet by his own uncontrolled big sweats.

“One more peso please” the ticket attendant asked him again. Mr. Cruz shamefully jumbled his bag to find some more coins but found nothing. “I know everyone was staring at me and I feel terribly ashamed of myself”, Mr. Cruz said as he cheerfully share to me his experience.

As he closes his eyes, thinking of his act to ask one peso to the person behind him, his nerves shakes and his knees fells into weakness. However, when he opened his eyes, he sees a rusty one peso coin scattered on the floor. He quickly picked it up and immediately pays his shameful one peso fare.

The incident only reveals how valuable a coin is, and able to save anybody from certain and unexpected shame my friend said. and with that i would like to share this story to encourage everybody to give coin special regard and bring it back to the circulation rather than spoiling it at home, because its value is more than just a coin.

About Mon

Edmon Agron or "Mon" as his friends call him, is a fan of innovation and development. He loves reading and writing, and spends most of his spare time exploring the world of technology. Mon is an avid student of life and forever learner. He run and manage WorldNgayon.com where he learned SEO and web development.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

